The Nugents at Ballinlough (who are really O Reillys, having assumed the surname of Nugent in 1812 to inherit a legacy) are almost unique in being a Catholic Celtic-Irish family who still live in their family castle.
The main part of the castle was built in the early seventeenth century- 1614 is the date on the O Reilly coat of arms over the front door although this be inaccurate by a few decades.
The newer wing at Ballinlough was added by Sir Hugh O Reilly in about 1790 and is probably attributable to the amateur Thomas Wogan Browne, also responsible for Malahide Castle, the home of Sir Hugh O Reilly s sister Margaret. The ground floor contains a large drawing room and dining room with four first-floor bedrooms approached by a vaulted corridor above. The spacious interiors have what may be the tallest windows in a private house of this period, overlooking the woods and lake. The chimneypiece in the drawing room is identical to a Wyatt chimneypiece at Curraghmore, Co. Waterford.